Donate Now
my profile | directory login | register | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Got Questions? Get Answers. » SCARLETEEN CENTRAL » Sexual Identity » the fluidity of bisexuality

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: the fluidity of bisexuality
Tenshi_XI
Activist
Member # 32522

Icon 1 posted      Profile for Tenshi_XI     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
So, I've been doing a ton of research on GLBT. Granted, I already knew quite a bit, but I'm still learning quite a bit more.

There's one thing that has popped up in about 70% of the websites that I find: That Bisexuality is essentially a layover to gay/lesbian.

Now this was quite an interesting idea, so, I did wind up asking Isaac, who has become basically my go-to person fo all questions. Lucky him. He's being a good sport about it actually.

Anyway, I ask him what his opinion was about bisexuality, and the layover theory.

He got very quite at first, then expressed his thanks that I asked the question. At the time, when I came out to him, he wanted to say something, but he felt it would upset me too much. It has been his experience, at being out for 10 years, that people who come out as Bi, do eventually simply come out as gay/lesbian. In fact, humorously, he said he only knew one truly Bi person, and she wasn't exactly the most stable person he knew. All offenses aside, he was glad I asked, and I was happy he gave me his honest opinion.

I'm going to ask John his opinion next, though I think I already know it. When I came out to him, there was something he said, that at the time I gave no heed, but after some thinking, is interesting. He said (paraphrase) "This sort of thing changes all the time. No matter how you eventually end up, it's all okay."