Donate Now
We've Moved! Check out our new boards.

my profile | directory login | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Scarleteen Boards: 2000 - 2014 (Archive) » SCARLETEEN CENTRAL » Sexual Identity » one hand on the closet doorknob

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: one hand on the closet doorknob
Annie724
Neophyte
Member # 7865

Icon 7 posted      Profile for Annie724     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Hey everybody...this is my first time posting on here.

Anyway, I need some advice or empathy or something. I'm feeling more and more ready to tell my best friend that I'm gay. But just when I think I'm ready, I get really scared. A couple of weeks ago we were talking about gayness (is that a word? I'm not sure) in general, and I asked her if she would want to stop being friends with someone if they told her that they were gay. (God, I'm so unobvious, aren't I?) She said right off, "No, I don't think so." Then she thought about it for a couple of seconds and said, "No! That would be a stupid reason to stop being friends with somebody." So part of me thinks that it'd be okay if I told her. But the other part of me is really, really scared that things will get awkward between us. Like she won't want to sit near me or sleep next to me at a sleepover. I can reason out to myself that if she can't accept my being gay, then she's not really my friend anyway, and that our friendship isn't worth anything if it's based on me being someone I'm not. But the idea of her not wanting to be friends with me is so horrible. So I've been pitting honesty and awkwardness against lying and friendship in my head, and, well, here I am -- my subject line pretty much sums it up.