Donate Now
We've Moved! Check out our new boards.

my profile | directory login | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Scarleteen Boards: 2000 - 2014 (Archive) » SCARLETEEN CENTRAL » LGBTQA Relationships » How have you met people

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: How have you met people
fly_little_wing
Activist
Member # 8684

Icon 1 posted      Profile for fly_little_wing     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Hey everyone!
This is my first post at scarleteen.com.
I've just recently realized I'm not straight. (Whether I'm bi or lesbian, I'm not sure). And I would love to meet someone my own age who's bi or gay. I was just wondering how you guys have met people. Sorry if this seems like a stupid question, but I'm new to all this. I don't know ANYONE my age who's gay/bi. I know it is always said that you probably know someone who's gay/bi, but just don't know it. But I'm not exactly going to go around asking everyone I know "Are you gay?" LOL So yeah, if you could just respond and tell me how you've met people in the past, I'd appreciate it.
Thanks, and see you around!
~Little Wing~

Posts: 41 | From: Canada | Registered: Jun 2002  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
shh
Activist
Member # 6929

Icon 1 posted      Profile for shh     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
In the real world:
It's a bit stereotypical, but I've met many a gay person through the drama department.
Joining the gay-straight alliance at your school, if you have one, is a good place to start (even though it's summer and you're probably on break).
Also, do a google search for glbt organizations in your area. In Minneapolis, for example, there is District 202, a glbt-youth community center. They have Queer Prom every year, plus dances and drag shows on Saturdays.
Finally, just be observant. Look around for pride symbols (rainbows, inverted pink triangles, etc) on backpacks and clothing.
Online: