Donate Now
We've Moved! Check out our new boards.
  New Poll  
my profile | directory login | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Scarleteen Boards: 2000 - 2014 (Archive) » SCARLETEEN CENTRAL » Pregnancy and Parenting » Breast Feeding vs. Bottle Feeding

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Breast Feeding vs. Bottle Feeding
gubblebum
Activist
Member # 15249

Icon 1 posted      Profile for gubblebum     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
I'm studying child development right now and we're talking about post-delivery options.

I searched, and I didn't find a whole lot on this topic. I was wondering what people think about breast feeding vs. bottle feeding, as I know there are pros and cons to both. Which would you do or have you done? Why would you choose this? How do you feel about breast feeding in public?

Here's what I think:
For me (I'm not pregnant now, I'm talking in the future), I would probably start out breastfeeding but wean my baby off within a few months.

As for breastfeeding in public, I tend to think there's a time and a place for everything. As a waitress, I've seen women breastfeed their babies in the restaurant as I'm serving them, and I find it extremely disrepectful. When I'm working, I have to be talking and interacting with my tables, and I don't want to see a woman's breast as I'm talking to her. In most situations, I think a woman should take it elsewhere or pump a bottle before she leaves to feed while they're in public.

Posts: 213 | From: Spain | Registered: Oct 2003  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
Aria51
Scarleteen Volunteer
Member # 653

Icon 8 posted      Profile for Aria51     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post