Donate Now
We've Moved! Check out our new boards.
  New Poll  
my profile | directory login | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Scarleteen Boards: 2000 - 2014 (Archive) » SCARLETEEN CENTRAL » Bodies » Smokers & Non Smokers

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Smokers & Non Smokers
Member # 5594

Icon 1 posted      Profile for celery     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Alright, todays the day I decide is going to be the last I have a cigarette.

I've been smoking for pretty much 3 years of my life. I'll have to admit I enjoy it as it's a good stress reliever at times, helps me when I'm bored, and well after a while it gets addicting!

Anyways, reasons for quitting are as follows

-Heart/Lung/LOTS of diseases
-I have breathing problems to begin with
-I'm on hormonal birth control (definite NONO)
-I enjoy it, but even as a smoker I know it's gross, unattractive, pointless and basically just very very damagaing to health.

I've tried a few half-assed attempts to quitting without really giving my will power a chance, but this time I really really want to quit. I want to be one of the non smokers for once, I want to be HEALTHY, and I want to prove to my friends I can actually quit because every time I say that I'm going to quit they always laugh, and a don't blame them 'cause I've probably tried about a gazillion times and failed within an hour.

Well tomorrows the day that I start with no cigarettes. I'm going to try my very hardest and prove everyone that I can really do it! Which I know is going to be so hard seeing as about 75% of my school smokes, maybe even more, and pretty much all my friends smoke except about...3, so it's very hard to quit when every single person around you is constantly smoking.

Anyways, the point of this post was to get peoples input on smoking.

Ex-Smokers: Why did you quit? How did you deal with it? and what were you experiences with quitting?