Donate Now
We've Moved! Check out our new boards.
  New Poll  
my profile | directory login | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Scarleteen Boards: 2000 - 2014 (Archive) » SCARLETEEN CENTRAL » Bodies » Never Worn Tampons...

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Never Worn Tampons...
ScarcelyHeard
Activist
Member # 29242

Icon 1 posted      Profile for ScarcelyHeard     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
I'm 19... I've had my period since I was 11 and I've never tried to wear tampons before. My mom for some reason, is kind of against it, although all she wears is tampons. I went looking for a pad today and all we had was tampons, so I had to go digging through my bags to find the pads I had brought back from university. A couple years ago, my friend got me to put her tampons in my purse. Well, I forgot about them, and mom found them when she decided to "clean out my purses". I had condoms in my purse as well, and she made a bigger deal about me having tampons than me having condoms. "So, you're wearing THEM now???"

Needless to say... well... I am scared stiff to try them. I was going to try them this morning, but there was no instructions in the box, so I got kind of scared.

So if I'm going to go out and buy tampons... where do I start? There are like a gazillion different kinds and sizes, so how do I know what kind is right for me? I'm on the pill, so my period is lighter and thicker than it usually is, but that's all I could tell you.

Thank you.

Posts: 80 | From: Canada's East Coast | Registered: Jun 2006  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
Horizon
Scarleteen Volunteer
Member # 35890

Icon 1 posted      Profile for Horizon     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
First of all, you're an adult now. It shouldn't matter whether or not your mother is for or against your use of tampons-- you can use what you like.