Donate Now
  New Poll  
my profile | directory login | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Scarleteen Boards: 2000 - 2014 (Archive) » SCARLETEEN CENTRAL » Support Groups » Getting Over A Seriously Bad Year or Two

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Getting Over A Seriously Bad Year or Two
Rhizome2
Neophyte
Member # 94166

Icon 1 posted      Profile for Rhizome2     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Does anyone have any good advice on getting past a really bad, stressful year or two? I have, for now, slightly limited resources and ways to cope and get better but I've been making a lot of progress from where I was in my life a couple months ago.

I just want to say I graduated from college in August of 2012 and my life took a downward spiral from there that I'm still recovering from. In September of 2012 my mom was diagnosed with a brain tumor residing in the area of her left ear. In that November she had brain surgery, which essentially wrecked her life for nearly a whole year. She had a loss in motor skills, hearing loss in her right ear I believe, her face has permanently lost some muscle tension and shows a slackness on one side that'll probably remain with her for the rest of her life. Also, she was seriously mentally ill as a result of the operation for almost a year. With a forewarning for suicide to all those who might be bothered by it [ moderator note for our community: please take this very seriously as a trigger warning, and Rhizome, thank you for the warning - Redskies ], in late November 2012, some two weeks after the operation, my father warned me to watch my mother as he was going to the store and that she was in a "bad mood". He understated more than a little bit. I followed her around the house as she muttered to herself, went down to the basement to look for something, yelled at me to stop following her, and then went up to the bedroom with nothing in her hands as far as I could t