Donate Now
  New Poll  
my profile | directory login | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Scarleteen Boards: 2000 - 2014 (Archive) » SCARLETEEN CENTRAL » Support Groups » Really could use a hug

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Really could use a hug
Atonement
Scarleteen Volunteer
Member # 42492

Icon 1 posted      Profile for Atonement     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
I’ve had a rough week.

As some of you know, I just transferred from a community college to a 4 year University.
Don’t get me wrong, I love it here, but I’m going through a really “stressed out” period.

Since I made up my mind to become a doctor, I’ve worked hard and done really well. In the past 2 years, I’ve only made one b.

Since coming here, I’ve had 6 exams. One the grade is still pending on, and I’m really nervous. Of the others, I’ve made one A, 2 B’s, 1 C, and failed one. To make it worse, I studied really hard, and for the one I made a C on, I went into the room sure I’d get 100…

I’m really, really worried. If my GPA slips, I’m going to ruin my chances of getting into Med school. And no one I know understands how huge of a deal it is to me. It’s the only thing that I want. If I feel like I don’t get accepted, I’ll never feel happy, accomplished, or successful ever again. Every time I voice my concerns about not getting in to my mom or my therapist, they start talking about alternative careers. And I know I’m doing well enough that I should be able to get a job and all after I finish even if I don’t get accepted, but I don’t think anything else will make me happy.

Where I came from, I was the “smart” one. I’ve always managed to pull A’s, if I care enough. I’ve been used to being told that I am smart all my life, and have had that idea reaffirmed by grades. Now, I feel like I was only intelligent by small town standards and now that I’m at a respected university, I’m just mediocre.