Donate Now
We've Moved! Check out our new boards.
  New Poll  
my profile | directory login | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Scarleteen Boards: 2000 - 2014 (Archive) » SCARLETEEN CENTRAL » Support Groups » Finals: Yikes!

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Finals: Yikes!
feefiefofemme
Activist
Member # 23917

Icon 1 posted      Profile for feefiefofemme     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
So I have finals next week for the first time (I'm a Freshman), and I'm pretty nervous. I've actually been feeling physically ill since a few days ago, since I'm so nervous. The homeopathic doctor my mum and I see (and have been seeing for as long as I can remember) has giving me pills to take to help me deal with anxiety. (She actually perscribed them quite a while ago, when I was feeling extreme anxiety about being sick and missing school - so much so that I was making myself sick. She says I can also use them for test anxiety and claustrophobia.)

I have a study plan/schedule, and I generally feel like I'm doing the right things as far as preparing goes, but that doesn't change the fact that I'm terrified! I guess I'm just looking for comfort and/or coping mechanisms (that don't involve taking pills, cause I'd really rather not have to take them too frequently).

Posts: 406 | From: California | Registered: Jun 2005  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
Alea
Activist
Member # 31146

Icon 1 posted      Profile for Alea     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
When I was going through finals for the first time, one thing I found out that helped was studying in small chunks instead of huge rushes. 30 minutes on, 10 off, that kind of thing. Having some time to do something else helps you from stressing too much under the work load!