Donate Now
We've Moved! Check out our new boards.
  New Poll  
my profile | directory login | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Scarleteen Boards: 2000 - 2014 (Archive) » SCARLETEEN CENTRAL » Support Groups » finally over it

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: finally over it
ilovemysoldier
Neophyte
Member # 23042

Icon 5 posted      Profile for ilovemysoldier     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Hi everyone!-

I just recently came out and told a few of my closest friends (and my mother) my deepest darkest secret that I've been keeping for almost 5 years now. The summer of my 7th grade year (I just turned 13) I was sexually assulted and almost raped by my older cousin. It was probably the most difficult thing I've ever done, but I finally decided to tell my mom one night.

I think I'm finally over the whole situation and am able to move on. The thing is, I'll be turning 18 next month and I've never gone to see a gyno. When my mom took me to get birth control almost a year ago, I almost broke down because there was a possibility of me having to "get checked". I was shaking horribly and in tears. My mom, at the time, didn't know what had happened with my cousin so she didn't understand why I was so nervous about the doctor.

Anyways, now I feel it's time for me to go to the doctor just to make sure everything is normal. I'm just afraid that if I go, I might freak out again. I'm pretty sure I've gotten over my past but there is a part of me that still isn't sure. What do you think I could do? I really want to make sure that everything is healthy before it's too late. Thanks so much!

------------------
"Time is a great teacher, but unfortunately it kills all of its pupils."

"Life is a mystery to be lived, not a problem to be solved."

Posts: 23 | From: Wisconsin, USA | Registered: Apr 2005  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
Gumdrop Girl
Scarleteen Volunteer
Member # 568