Donate Now
my profile | directory login | register | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Got Questions? Get Answers. » SCARLETEEN CENTRAL » Sexual Ethics and Politics » Aspiring sex educator?

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Aspiring sex educator?
Hype
Neophyte
Member # 35615

Icon 7 posted      Profile for Hype     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
I'm a freshman in college, and I've known for a while that I'm interested in social issues surrounding gender, sex, and sexuality. I've been thinking recently about how strongly I believe in comprehensive sex education and starting to consider sex education as a possible career. What kinds of work experience/extracurricular activities would help prepare me? I'd also really be interested in working or volunteering at rape/domestic abuse counseling centers (I know several near where I live, but it might be difficult for me to manage the time commitment while I'm a full-time student) or maybe a Planned Parenthood clinic, if possible.
Posts: 19 | From: California | Registered: Oct 2007  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
Heather
Executive Director & Founder
Member # 3

Icon 1 posted      Profile for Heather     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
How exciting! We always need more people in these fields.

So, how you come into the field and how you prepare for it can really vary quite a lot.

There's a pretty big difference, often, between wanting to go into assault/DV counseling and clinical work, and the background for those things tends to be pretty different.

Do you feel pretty torn between them? If so, how about feeling them out via classes at school? For instance, for the rape/DV work you might want to take some psych or sociology classes, and for the clinical work, you might see what's available in terms of pre-med classes focusing on OB/GYN.

--------------------