Donate Now
my profile | directory login | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Got Questions? Get Answers. » SCARLETEEN CENTRAL » The Randoms » college major help

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: college major help
SUstudent2011
Neophyte
Member # 43861

Icon 1 posted      Profile for SUstudent2011     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
Currently, my major is Early Childhood Education (Associates degree). I really love working with kids, and I always knew that was something I wanted to do. I'm enrolled in a class where it's required we do an externship at a day care and I have to complete 60 hours of work. I just have been dreading going and everything. I'm thinking maybe working with kids is not for me now if I'm already dreading it. I'm afraid I'll spend too much time into this and later on change my mind about it and waste money going to school for something I may not really like doing after all.

I've talked to my Advisor, and she recommended changing my major to Business Management and I could always get my Bachelors in education if I decide I want to follow the career path of a teacher.

I wanted to get others opinions about this. Have you ever decided your career major wasn't for you and how did you pick the right one?

Also, what are some jobs I could actually get with an Associates in Business Management?

Posts: 17 | From: away from the home. | Registered: Aug 2009  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
KittenGoddess
Scarleteen Volunteer
Member # 1679

Icon 1 posted      Profile for KittenGoddess     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
Been there, done that...I spent 2.5 years pursuing a degree in engineering (which I hated and made me miserable) before switching into a social science that I loved (in which I'm now pursuing a PhD). So I've been there...