Donate Now
We've Moved! Check out our new boards.

my profile | directory login | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Scarleteen Boards: 2000 - 2014 (Archive) » SCARLETEEN CENTRAL » The Randoms » College Blues

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: College Blues
MichSM2
Activist
Member # 13662

Icon 9 posted      Profile for MichSM2         Edit/Delete Post 
Hi People.

I'm a freshman at Northwestern University. I am quite lonely and frustrated with my attempts to make friendships. No one calls me or even wants to talk to me. It sucks.

I like my classes, except for one. This class involves a field trip with peers into Downtown Chicago. I don't know anyone in the class (predominately upper-classmen who live off-campus) and asked the professor if I could go to one event with her to satisfy the field trip requirement. She insisted that I go with peers. I was heart-broken not by that statement but the fact I sensed she felt annoyed by my presence. So I am leaving her alone.

I do not want to ride the train alone into a big city like Chicago. I also want to make friendships that last and people will want to talk to me, not stare at me like I'm strange. Help me.

Frustrated & Lonely Girl

Posts: 93 | From: Michigan, USA | Registered: Jun 2003  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
DarkChild717
Scarleteen Volunteer
Member # 139

Icon 1 posted      Profile for DarkChild717     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Hello.
I was once a new college freshmen too. And It was hard.

I would recommend simply talking to people, or if they say something that interests you, go on that. Say if someone wants to go to the Field Museum because they heard that Chocolate Exhibit was tasty, and you share that thought, you could say, "Hey, I thought that sounded like fun, too. Want to go together?"