Donate Now
my profile | directory login | register | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Got Questions? Get Answers. » SCARLETEEN CENTRAL » The Randoms » HELP!!! Academic identity crisis!!!!

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: HELP!!! Academic identity crisis!!!!
lemming
Scarleteen Volunteer
Member # 33

Icon 1 posted      Profile for lemming     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
All right, well, those of you who know me/have talked to me may know that I'm currently a freshman at a technology school in Chicago. I'm majoring in psychology.

I love Chicago, my darling is moving up to be with me in under a month, I love Chicago, and I love Chicago.

But I don't like my school.

See, I've always been involved in the media in one way or another. The school paper, a magazine-writing gig for a couple of years, editing, things like that. Creativity. And here I am, at a school where I'm not even taking an English class.

On top of that, the psychology department seems to be run by people focused on their own area of psychology - one that not only doesn't interest me but actively turns me off.

I feel like I'm denying myself by not doing something creative, or doing something that I have an obvious talent for (writing). I feel VERY out of place at this school, whose population mainly consists of international students and of people who look at me strangely 'cause I have a bar going through my ear (http://www.geocities.com/missdaphneq/lemindst.jpg).

I feel out of place, I feel depressed, and I'm miserable! But I don't know how I'm going to transfer out of this and deal with financial aid and credits and the fact that the fall semester's not even half over!

I know that it has to be bad that I'm feeling burned-out and not even slightly motivated after only three weeks of school.

Please, someone, give me some advice! I feel miserable...

------------------
~lemming, Scarleteen Advocate