Donate Now
my profile | directory login | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Got Questions? Get Answers. » SCARLETEEN CENTRAL » Relationships » Against Sex Before Marriage, Am I Limiting Myself?

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Against Sex Before Marriage, Am I Limiting Myself?
jrd680
Neophyte
Member # 108624

Icon 1 posted      Profile for jrd680     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
Hello,

A little background first. I am a college student currently a sophomore at a Big Ten university in the midwest. The concept of sex at home was talked about and overall I can come to my parents for advice and such. I grew up going to catholic grade school and high school. I didn't receive any worthwhile sex ed at school but found information and sanity through Scarletteen and Sex.etc. When I came to school, I was amazed at the sex positivity on campus, the health center has contraception available, and overall campus is very accepting of most everybody.

I have dated a little bit but not a ton. I am very sex positive and don't believe in being abstinent until marriage. For me I don't think it's very realistic and I feel that sex is part of relationships. Over the summer I was into a girl who I found out wanted to wait till marriage for sex. I am still friends with her but this caught me a little off guard. For one I as I said before don't believe in saving sex for marriage.

With all being said, I have a few questions. I'm I setting myself up for failure by being hesitant to enter a possible relationship with someone who is saving sex for marriage? Can people change there stance? Are their people that feel similar to me? How do I find a sex positive girlfriend? Am I limiting my dating prospects?

--------------------
From,
jrd680

Posts: 5 | From: Chicago | Registered: Oct 2013  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
Robin Lee
Volunteer Assistant Director
Member # 90293