Donate Now
my profile | directory login | register | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Got Questions? Get Answers. » SCARLETEEN CENTRAL » Relationships » Feeling Inadequate

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Feeling Inadequate
nosalis
Neophyte
Member # 105716

Icon 1 posted      Profile for nosalis     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
I'm a longtime reader, but this is my first time posting.

I'm a 19-year-old college freshman. I've never had a romantic relationship, never kissed a girl, never been physically close with a girl, never even held hands. I have had crushes before, so I know that I am attracted to girls.

I think I know where my problem lies: me. I've always been pretty shy and socially awkward, and I don't think I have ever had any really close friends. I do hang out with a group of people who share some of my interests at my college, but I wouldn't say I'm really close to any of them. When I start thinking about this stuff, I feel really lonely and isolated, and most of all inadequate. Everybody else seems to be able to get closer to other people just fine, but I just can't.

It might be helpful to know some of my medical history. I have moderate Major Depressive Disorder, and after a really rough time in High School I'm on SSRI Antidepressants. They help out a lot with "evening me out" and keeping negative feelings from persisting. In addition, I've been diagnosed with mild Asperger's Syndrome, but I'm not really getting any treatment for it, apart from my antidepressants.

I've been to a therapist before, when I was in High School, but I haven't been to one since I graduated. I have talked with my mom about my feelings, but she doesn't really know what to do.