Donate Now
We've Moved! Check out our new boards.
  New Poll  
my profile | directory login | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Scarleteen Boards: 2000 - 2014 (Archive) » SCARLETEEN CENTRAL » Relationships » Parents not knowing about relationship - please help (Page 1)

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!   This topic comprises 2 pages: 1  2   
Author Topic: Parents not knowing about relationship - please help
floridagirl
Activist
Member # 46712

Icon 1 posted      Profile for floridagirl     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
I am a 19-year-old Persian-American. I was born and raised in America, but both my parents are Iranian-born. I'm a college student studying journalism and I'm doing very well, with a great GPA and 3 internships under my belt as a sophomore.
I've been in an amazing relationship with another Persian-American for over a year and a half now. Our parents have been friends since we were kids (he was 12 when we met and I was 10). We became very good friends while in high school and began dating the spring of my senior year (after I had decided on a college). I don't know if I'm old enough to truly understand the concept of love, but I am in love with him. He's been nothing but supportive, compassionate and amazing to me. He treats me like a princess and has been my best friend and rock since I was 15.
The problem is that neither of our parents know we are dating. Everyone else does: our siblings, cousins and friends, but not our parents. We have tried to approach the subject, but nothing.
My parents constantly refer to his parents as "Amu" and "Khaleh", like they have with all their other friends to me since I was a kid. I feel incredibly uncomfortable when they do this, as they are in no way blood related to us.