Donate Now
We've Moved! Check out our new boards.
  New Poll  
my profile | directory login | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Scarleteen Boards: 2000 - 2014 (Archive) » SCARLETEEN CENTRAL » Relationships » I don't think I'm sexually healthy in the mind

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: I don't think I'm sexually healthy in the mind
midnitesandwich
Neophyte
Member # 96087

Icon 1 posted      Profile for midnitesandwich     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
I'm a male college graduate trying to sort out my relationship/ intimacy problems. I couldn't bring myself to have sex with my now ex.

When I say ex-girlfriend, we only dated for a month right before we graduated but truth be told this was my longest lasting relationship. Having no job offers, I moved back home.

In retrospect, there were a number of reasons it didn't work out:

• I kind of new this relationship would have a time limit, as I'd be moving away from the college town back home or wherever a job would be.

• My sex education was lacking and one sided (Catholic schooling, tight lipped parents) and a relationship was never a priority of mine, so I was going in with no experience. I really wanted her to hold my hand through the whole thing, but...

• Our communication was terrible/ nonexistent. I was unable to voice my concerns about protection/ birth control/ my poor sex education/ my fears of the future/everything. On the last night I spent at her house I blurt out that I'm not comfortable having sex, that I'm afraid of pregnancy and STDs, that I'm paranoid of all protection failing, that I want to get tested, that I need help. Even though I tried to make it clear these are my problems, she got offended and told me to leave. (Rightfully so I think)

I know I set myself up for failure. I trusted her but not enough to be intimate with her.