Donate Now
  New Poll  
my profile | directory login | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Scarleteen Boards: 2000 - 2014 (Archive) » SCARLETEEN CENTRAL » Relationships » Good News: The "talk" with My Mom About Getting Birth Control/Contraception

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Good News: The "talk" with My Mom About Getting Birth Control/Contraception
khaetlyn
Neophyte
Member # 47264

Icon 10 posted      Profile for khaetlyn     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Dearest Scarleteen Users,

While I am new to the message boards, I have been keeping up with Scarleteen for a few months and have read some of the stories people post on here--some good and some, unfortunately, are not so good.

I support Scarleteen with every ounce of my being and am very thankful that such a resource exists. I am especially thankful that there is a place for teens and young adults to come when they are in need of advice and support. But just as these message boards are an appropriate place to post your fears, questions, and secrets, I also believe that sharing positive stories is a necessary component of this community. This is why I would like to share some good news with you all.

My best friend of 1.5 years and "official" partner of 2 months, Caleb, have been discussing the issue of sex recently. We have a wonderful relationship and communicate our likes and dislikes openly. We never pressure each other and are always honest about how we feel. I am very fortunate to have him as a friend and partner.

The only reason why we haven't had sex yet is contraception. Neither of us has ever had intercourse before, and while we feel completely comfortable with each other, we don't want to take any risks when it comes to unwanted pregnancy, STIs, and so on. He has condoms, but we want to "double up" on protection to be extra careful.