Donate Now
  New Poll  
my profile | directory login | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Scarleteen Boards: 2000 - 2014 (Archive) » SCARLETEEN CENTRAL » Relationships » An LDR where her parents don't like me, and a power struggle. It's worth it, IMO.

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: An LDR where her parents don't like me, and a power struggle. It's worth it, IMO.
InsanityRefined
Neophyte
Member # 43808

Icon 1 posted      Profile for InsanityRefined     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Hello Scarleteen,

I am an 18-year old college freshman male living roughly an hour away from my 18-year old college girlfriend. Our relationship is very rocky right now because she feels like she is doing all of the work in the relationship. Her parents do not like me, nor do they know about the relationship. She feels like since I am the one who has to leave (she stays at home with parents and goes to CC), that it gives me free reign to do whatever I want. That I essentially cannot do anything but love, come, go, and support.

I cannot help her relationship with her parents. She tells me that she has had to lie to so many people and use her friends in order to cover up our relationship but I don't have to do anything. We believe we are very much in love with each other. The root of this problem, I feel, are the parents who do not support her and do not like me as a person. Her father is abusive and her mother is ignorant to her.

In turn, her having to do so much has led to a power struggle between us which in turn has led to her developing negative feelings towards me. She feels like she is torn between two people, and that it feels like she is dating two different people. We have been squabbling for months and it feels like we are not the people we fell in love with. What can/should we do to stay together?

Posts: 12 | From: CA | Registered: Aug 2009  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
Ecofem