Donate Now
  New Poll  
my profile | directory login | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Scarleteen Boards: 2000 - 2014 (Archive) » SCARLETEEN CENTRAL » Relationships » I just wanted to help... Now I need help?!

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: I just wanted to help... Now I need help?!
Janus
Neophyte
Member # 33557

Icon 1 posted      Profile for Janus         Edit/Delete Post 
Hello,
I am a college student who is in a little bit of a jam. Just this year I started to open myself up socially. Before this year, I was reserved and did not let anyone get close. I stood by idly and let life pass me. I have decided to end that and I am more involved in life this year. I am doing more in my church, a club at the school, getting better grades, started working out and exercising, eating better, etc (cleaning up in short). Now, for the issue. Opening up to the world netted me something that I did not bargain for. Someone that I knew before this year now really likes me. This particular person is sort-of clingy. This person admitted to being the touchy-feely type. I am aware that this person's home life leaves a lot to be desired and that could be the cause of the aforementioned "cliny-ness" (if there is such a word). My problem is that I only wish to be friends with this person and this radically contradicts their agenda. I may have made several "mistakes" during the process which has led to where I am now. I have tried to help this person as much as I can because of the situation they are in. I have taken this person out to eat a few times, taken them where the needed to go, bought them things that they have needed for classes and overall just tried to do the right thing and help. I have been told that my "problem" is that I was too nice. Most people in my situation would only do this because they have an ulterior motive (sex mostly...), I just wanted to help (I can say that honestly and truthfully). I am the type