Donate Now
We've Moved! Check out our new boards.

my profile | directory login | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Scarleteen Boards: 2000 - 2014 (Archive) » EXPERT ADVICE » Emergencies and Crises » Questions about pregnancy testing and starting bc

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Questions about pregnancy testing and starting bc
notsure88
Neophyte
Member # 33006

Icon 1 posted      Profile for notsure88     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
So I have been using condoms for roughly 7 years with no issue up until yesterday.. Condom broke without either my partner nor I noticing. (Unbelievable. I always assumed that if it were ever to happen, I would surely notice something was amiss) Anyway, he finished and we didn't find out that it broke until a few seconds later when he went to remove it. 

Luckily we stayed calm and rushed to the nearest pharmacy and picked up next choice (one dose), which I took within about 40 minutes of the "incident". 

So for now, there's not much to do but lose sleep until I can take a pregnancy test. Our accident happened on the last day of my period, which was day 5 of my cycle. I've kept a complete record of my cycle for almost 5 years and on average my cycle is 30 days. A handful of times it's been as short as 26 days, and more often it's been as long as 40 days. In short, 30+ days is pretty common for me. 

Judging by where I was in my cycle and the fact that I took ec pretty much as quickly as humanly possible, I KNOW I shouldn't be as scared as I am. However, this is the greatest risk I've encountered since becoming sexually active so no matter what, until I get my period OR a negative pregnancy test after the appropriate amount of time, I'm going to be STRESSED. I should add that I've read all of your articles about pregnancy risk and ec.