Donate Now

my profile | directory login | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Scarleteen Boards: 2000 - 2014 (Archive) » EXPERT ADVICE » Ask Scarleteen » Backing up with IUD?

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Backing up with IUD?
dasea
Neophyte
Member # 109428

Icon 1 posted      Profile for dasea     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
I've had a copper IUD for almost 2 years, and I've been very happy with it. However, I had a minor pregnancy scare (a period late by a week from the average, though only four days or so from the absolute longest, but without most of the normal PMS symptoms I get, so it felt like it wasn't coming. It arrived just before I bought a test). Based on my alarm about that, I've been wondering if I should use condoms as well as the IUD; I do not want to carry a pregnancy to term at this point.

I'm studying abroad, which means a lack of in-person support (no particularly close friends here), potential language difficulties (although the standard of English is very high indeed) and uncertainty over insurance coverage for an abortion on non-medical grounds (I could pay out of pocket, though I'd rather not!), though I could probably manage an abortion if I had to. I'm using the copper IUD alone, which I have until now been very happy with. I'm aware of the high effectiveness rates of an IUD (99.8% perfect use, 99.2% typical use), but I'm wondering about backing up with condoms* to be even safer. Is this overkill, based on how effective the IUD is? Your advice (or thoughts about what I should be thinking about!) would be much appreciated.