Donate Now

my profile | directory login | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Scarleteen Boards: 2000 - 2014 (Archive) » EXPERT ADVICE » Ask Scarleteen » Clarification on taking Plan B after birth control failure

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Clarification on taking Plan B after birth control failure
S M
Neophyte
Member # 108846

Icon 5 posted      Profile for S M     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Hello,

I'm a new registered user but ever since I became sexually active 4 1/2 years ago I've looked to your website for advice and sound information.

I have a question regarding Plan B and missing birth control pills.

I have been using Alesse 21 for over 4 years, and in that time I have been essentially a perfect user apart from the occasional 2 or 3 hr late pill. However, earlier this week, I forgot to take my last pill in my pack (set to be taken Mondays at 6 PM), and ended up taking it on Tuesday at 12:30 PM once I realised my mistake.

Since I had had condom-less sex on Sunday morning, I decided to take Plan B because I found no concrete information anywhere (not even from my pharmacist) regarding the "pregnancy danger level" of taking my last pill late.

Anyway, I took plan B (2 pills at the same time) at 6 PM on Tuesday once I arrived home from work, and, as per my pharmacist's instructions and the instructions on the pill packet, have started a new pack of Alesse.

Now, where I need clarification is regarding *when*, exactly, I'm supposed to be expecting my period. In the information I received from the Plan B package, they said you would get your period at your normal, expected time. However, that would be this week -- usually Friday -- since it's my normal "off" week, yet that's presumably been altered by the fact that I have renewed taking Alesse starting Wednesday evening.