Donate Now
my profile | directory login | register | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Got Questions? Get Answers. » EXPERT ADVICE » Ask Scarleteen » Inducing or delaying a period? (NOT pregnant)

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Inducing or delaying a period? (NOT pregnant)
Haumea
Neophyte
Member # 67358

Icon 1 posted      Profile for Haumea     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
Hi! I'm sorry if this has been asked before. I saw the question below, but that one appears to be more about a possible pregnancy.

In exactly 17 days, I will be taking the LSAT. This the most important test I've taken and I've been studying 20 hours a week for four months. I was supposed to get my period last week, but didn't. Considering the stress I'm under from the test (I've lost weight as well, both from stress and probably working out too much to reduce the stress), I'm not surprised my period is late. I'm worried my period could start around--or, worse, during--the test. We only get one, fifteen minute break and the test can last up to seven hours.

A couple friends have suggested that I start taking birth control again right now (I have a few extra packs--I stopped taking it three months ago) and take it through the test. I am totally willing to do that, but I did stop taking the pill for a reason (migraines), and getting a migraine on the test would be much more debilitating than my period. Others have suggested either taking Plan B to start a period (but I didn't think it worked that way...) or taking this drug Primolut that is available in the UK, which will delay my period for a week. Has anyone heard of it? Would any of these methods work if I've already ovulated, and just ovulated late this cycle?