Donate Now
my profile | directory login | register | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Got Questions? Get Answers. » EXPERT ADVICE » Ask Scarleteen » Is My Girlfriend Pregnant?

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Is My Girlfriend Pregnant?
giantsfan
Neophyte
Member # 107629

Icon 1 posted      Profile for giantsfan     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
Hello I'm new to this, just trying to find some answers to help ease my nerves.

well on May 27th my girlfriend and I had unprotected sex. Within an hour later we went to a pharmacy to pick up EC Next Choice one dose. what are the chances of her being pregnant? Her symptoms have been cramping, nausea, lower abdominal pain. She also threw up two days after taking it? does this affect anything? I read the label and it said 2 hours. She hasn't had any type of bleeding and its been 10 days. is this a good or bad sign? Also when can she take a pregnancy test?

any advice will help thank you

Posts: 9 | From: United states | Registered: Jun 2013  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
giantsfan
Neophyte
Member # 107629

Icon 1 posted      Profile for giantsfan     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
Also she said she might have been ovulating around that time of intercourse? Does that affect anything.
Posts: 9 | From: United states | Registered: Jun 2013  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
Heather
Executive Director & Founder
Member # 3

Icon 1 posted      Profile for Heather     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
Welcome to the boards, giantsfan. [Smile]

No, emergency contraception is around 98% effective when used within the first 24 hours. That means there's around a 2% risk of pregnancy remaining, given when she used it.

Throwing up days after using it won't have any impact on it working: that's LONG since it was absorbed by her body.