Donate Now

my profile | directory login | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Scarleteen Boards: 2000 - 2014 (Archive) » EXPERT ADVICE » Ask Scarleteen » Birth control pregnancy question

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Birth control pregnancy question
Armywife93
Neophyte
Member # 107556

Icon 4 posted      Profile for Armywife93     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
I started birth control (reclipsen) the Sunday after the first of may. I had unprotected sex about 2 days after that and so on and so forth even on my ovulation days because my doctor said that the birth control would go immediately into my system and be effective. Lately I've been feeling sick and getting migraines when I first wake up. So I looked online to find out whether I had made a bad move by not waiting because I've never used pills before. I was wondering what are my chances of being pregnant?
Posts: 9 | From: Texas | Registered: May 2013  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
Heather
Executive Director & Founder
Member # 3

Icon 1 posted      Profile for Heather     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Your pill packet -- the patient insert that comes with pills -- makes clear that when doing a day one or Sunday start, you will need to use a backup method for seven days after starting before you can rely on your pill's full effectiveness.

That's standard with all birth control pills, so if your doctor told you otherwise, I'm afraid that wasn't sound information they gave you.

Do you have a late period/withdrawal bleed yet? Mind, nausea and migraines are two common side effects with combined birth control pills, so these symptoms are not more likely to be about pregnancy than they are about your pill.

If you need a copy of that patient insert, btw, here it is for you online: http://dailymed.nlm.nih.gov/dailymed/lookup.cfm?setid=add7f052-f93f-495c-99c5-1ec8ae9db5ef