Donate Now

my profile | directory login | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Scarleteen Boards: 2000 - 2014 (Archive) » EXPERT ADVICE » Ask Scarleteen » Some less asked Questions on Condoms & ECP

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Some less asked Questions on Condoms & ECP
N7
Neophyte
Member # 100247

Icon 1 posted      Profile for N7     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Hi there, I am a 32-year old male (i.e. no longer a teen nor in my 20s!), and over the last few years, this site has been invaluable to me in answering many questions regarding sex. I apologize for my long post, but I have not seen answers to these questions before, please bear with me!

A little about me before I begin:
While I am 32, I have only just begun having intercourse. I also work as a model and this site really helped me through all my questions and worries, especially when people did not believe I was a virgin and often giggled thinking I was making a joke. Needless to say that only made things more difficult in terms of asking questions.
To be honest, I have always been risk-averse, and avoiding unintended pregnancy is the main reason why I have delayed engaging in intercourse or having a girlfriend up to now.
In order to avoid problems like delays in getting the emergency contraceptive pill (ECP), and to take responsibility for my own actions, I now keep a limited stock of ECPs with me along with condoms. This is because I find no matter what protection I use, I feel ECPs give me the greatest reassurance. The only problem is that it isnt entirely upto me whether or not the woman in question would be willing to take it!
Recently I have had intercourse with a few women whom I have known for some years. They are NOT generally into 'casual sex' and most have had 3 boyfriends or fewer. With this backdrop in mind, my questions below are excluding any concerns as to STIs.