Donate Now

my profile | directory login | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Scarleteen Boards: 2000 - 2014 (Archive) » EXPERT ADVICE » Ask Scarleteen » Communication, personalities or boundaries?

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Communication, personalities or boundaries?
WildRice
Neophyte
Member # 45445

Icon 5 posted      Profile for WildRice     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
My boyfriend and I have been together for 10 months now. Majority of the time, I am happy with him and he tells me the same. But we have a problem that I don't fully understand in my head and some outside, expert perspective would be helpful.

I have some experiences of sexual assault that I haven't let go of... One of them happened almost two years ago. I feel they have almost become apart of my identity. I think about them all the time. Everyday.... Playing the what if?... Analyzing people, their stories, what it said about me... Even though I've seen a few counsellors. It's difficult for me to trust them. Or even trust that what I experienced was even real. Did it actually happen? Or am I just making everything up? After one or two dates I stop seeing them.

My partner is the only person I talk to about these experiences. He's one of the only people I feel close and safe around to do so. But he doesn't like to hearing about some of them because he sees them as sex. Particularly the ones that have to do with my past partner. He tells me they cross a strong boundary he has and would rather I tell him nothing.

Since the first assault, my memory has been horrible. It is incredibly spotty and sometimes completely blank. I'm constantly forgetting really important things, like the things he prefers not to talk about. But because, I'm forgetting so many things, I repeatedly ask him for help remembering. But he sees it as me not caring about his boundaries. Not caring enough to remember at least.