Donate Now

my profile | directory login | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Scarleteen Boards: 2000 - 2014 (Archive) » EXPERT ADVICE » Ask Scarleteen » how to take a pregnancy test on seasonique?

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: how to take a pregnancy test on seasonique?
michaela08
Neophyte
Member # 93289

Icon 1 posted      Profile for michaela08     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
hello,
i am a recent college grad who has been on birth control for 6 years, and specifically using seasonique for the past 2 years.
recently (like the past few weeks) i have noticed extreme nipple sensitivity and my breasts are plumped/feel heavy and tender.
i'd like to take a pregnancy test, but i am not due for a period again for about 2 months. also, i have sex several times a week, so i am not sure when pregnancy may have happened, if it did.
i try to take my pills consistently but i sometimes miss one or take them late.

long story short, i'm just wondering when i should take a pregnancy test for it to be accurate? i have a GYN appointment coming up at the end of the month if all else fails. thanks [Smile]

Posts: 5 | Registered: Jan 2012  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
Robin Lee
Volunteer Assistant Director
Member # 90293

Icon 1 posted      Profile for Robin Lee     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
There's no specific time when a pregnancy test is more accurate than others. For people who have had a specific time when their birth control has failed (such as when a condom breaks) we usually suggest about 14 days after the incident.

It's worth noting that breast tenderness in and of itself isn't generally a first sign of pregnancy. However, if it would ease your mind to take a pregnancy test, by all means go ahead and take one any time.