Donate Now
my profile | directory login | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Scarleteen Boards: 2000 - 2014 (Archive) » SCARLETEEN CENTRAL » Gender Issues » I think he might be trans...?

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: I think he might be trans...?
Imperfect_Innocence
Neophyte
Member # 108093

Icon 5 posted      Profile for Imperfect_Innocence     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
So, my friend, we'll call him A (calling A a "he" because that's the only way I know him), looks very guy-ish (also is very cute!), but can act...feminine. He's fairly open about himself, so I asked him if he was gay, and he said he wasn't sure, and I said okay, and we went on as things have been. That was totally fine. But then I noticed that A's Facebook gender was "Female," interested in women. He could just be joking around like I do on Facebook (like how I put that I studied at Hogwarts), but maybe he actually be trans. If (s)he is, is (s)he openly trans and just hasn't told me, expected me to know? (Rhetorical question). I'll still be A's friend no matter what (s)he identifies as, but for some reason, not knowing is really affecting me. Help? [Confused] [Confused]
Posts: 9 | From: Narnia | Registered: Jul 2013  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
Molias
Scarleteen Volunteer
Member # 101745

Icon 1 posted      Profile for Molias     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
This is a situation where we certainly can't know why your friend put that information in their facebook page. I think it's something you could ask about if you want to - certainly I'd take a pretty approach like "oh hey, I saw your fb profile says 'female,' is there a particular reason behind that?" so that it's clear that you're giving them space to answer or not as comfort dictates.