Donate Now
We've Moved! Check out our new boards.

my profile | directory login | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Scarleteen Boards: 2000 - 2014 (Archive) » READ-ONLY ARCHIVE » General Health & Nutrition » muscle & fat

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: muscle & fat
buffguy
Neophyte
Member # 27444

Icon 1 posted      Profile for buffguy     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
i've heard that if you have a generally thicker, fattier body, that any weight-training that you only puts muscle under your fat, and doesn't actually replace it. does pure fat get replaced by muscle?
Posts: 32 | From: ny | Registered: Feb 2006  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
hellokitty17
Activist
Member # 30069

Icon 1 posted      Profile for hellokitty17     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
*nods* I'm no expert but I certainly have heard that rumour about exercising your STOMACH muscles and that puts fat under it, if that's what you mean.

--------------------
what makes the one to shake you down?
each touch belongs to each new sound
say now you want to shake me too
move down to me slip into you

Posts: 74 | From: BOBD | Registered: Jul 2006  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
Gumdrop Girl
Scarleteen Volunteer
Member # 568

Icon 1 posted      Profile for Gumdrop Girl     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
buffguy, lean mass gain and fat loss are separate processes that usually coincide with each other. You do cardio to burn the fat, but you do resistance training to increase the muscle.

Yeah, I am a little fattier, too. and that means it can be tougher for me to get rid of fat because my body is gentically predisposed to hold onto the stuff. But the combination of cardio, weight training plus a sensible diet all have helped me burn off a few percentage points of fat and increase my lean mass.

--------------------
LA County STD Hotline 1.800.758.0880