Donate Now
We've Moved! Check out our new boards.
  New Poll  
my profile | directory login | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Scarleteen Boards: 2000 - 2014 (Archive) » SCARLETEEN CENTRAL » Safer Sex & Birth Control » Birth Control Questions..

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Birth Control Questions..
Samgood22
Neophyte
Member # 108830

Icon 1 posted      Profile for Samgood22     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Hello,

I will start by stating that I am very new to birth control, and a bit confused by it. Today is my fourth day and I have a few questions.

1) I just started taking Generess FE (has anyone else taken this?) and I've been experiencing nausea. I was wondering how long it will take for it to go away? I've heard two months, but that seems drastic to me.
Also, how long should I take it before I know if it's the right birth control for me or not?

2) When I went to my gynecologist I told her that my periods are extremely heavy and so are my ovulation days. I asked her if this makes me any more fertile and she said no, that I just "drew the short stick." Is this true?

3) I am 18 years old, and I've had a steady boyfriend for the past two years. He is very supportive of me and the fact that I've been waiting to have sex (mostly because I haven't felt ready). I have always had a seemingly larger fear than most of my friends about pregnancy, and he knows this as well. I'm wondering if there are ways that I can have sex but completely be assured that I am okay?
For my first time I am planning on taking the pill and using a condom. I was also considering withdrawal, but I heard somewhere that it can be bad because the condom can come off. Is this a good method used with a condom/the pill? I was wondering about those possibilities, and also if there is anything I can do to keep my mind at rest?