Donate Now
my profile | directory login | register | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Got Questions? Get Answers. » SCARLETEEN CENTRAL » Safer Sex & Birth Control » Could I still use my Paragard with hormones?

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Could I still use my Paragard with hormones?
iamabagel
Neophyte
Member # 95639

Icon 1 posted      Profile for iamabagel     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
I've been using the Paragard for about 3 years now and I have no complaints. I have a heart arrhythmia that gets worse around my period and my cardiologist suggested I go on a continuous birth control like Implanon to prevent the hormone fluctuations. Since I paid a lot of money for the Paragard insertion and would have to pay for the removal, I would like to keep it if I am able too (an the extra pregnancy prevention isn't a downer, either). Even though it's non-hormonal, could it somehow mess with the mucous thickening or something?
Posts: 18 | From: TN | Registered: Apr 2012  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
Heather
Executive Director & Founder
Member # 3

Icon 1 posted      Profile for Heather     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
This is something to talk with your cardiologist about. I don't know of any reason why this would be a problem, but the physician treating you is the best person to discuss this with and that's a discussion you need to have with them.

--------------------
Heather Corinna, Executive Director & Founder, Scarleteen
About Me • Get our book!
Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has. - Margaret Mead

Posts: 67076 | From: An island near Seattle | Registered: May 2000  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
iamabagel
Neophyte
Member # 95639