Donate Now
my profile | directory login | register | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Got Questions? Get Answers. » SCARLETEEN CENTRAL » Safer Sex & Birth Control » Marvelon

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Marvelon
fairytalebride
Neophyte
Member # 51754

Icon 5 posted      Profile for fairytalebride     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
Hello,

I have been prescribed Marvelon by my new family doctor. Other than the packet information and the anecdotals that I have found searching online there does not seem to be much information out there.

I have been taking Marvelon for about 4 months now and it is agreeing with me mentally, physically, etc. However, I have been taking it right before I go to bed, which because I am a graduate student, is be anywhere from 10pm to 3am.

I am not sexually active and won't be using the pill as a birth control pill until I get married in August and am sexually active. I have just been prescribed it early to make sure I had time to find one that is right for me.

Anyway, enough about me, my question is in regards to the information provided here about what is considered on time and what isn't.

I haven't been able to find an exact answer from the Marvelon pack insert, and my doctor and the pharmacist said just to take it as close to the same time as possible. I am finding myself stressing out about when I will be depending on the Marvelon for preventing pregnancy whether my wonky timing will jeopardize the efficacy?

I read in that information that as long as it is in a few hour window, that is okay... Is that a few hour window on either side? Like, can you take it a few hours early or a few hours late and still be protected the same?

Also, if a pill is considered late after 12-24 hours, does that mean that up to 12 hours after your set time is still safe and the efficacy remains?

I hope that you can help me out!