Donate Now
  New Poll  
my profile | directory login | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Scarleteen Boards: 2000 - 2014 (Archive) » SCARLETEEN CENTRAL » Bodies » Spotting

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Spotting
Kathryn2425
Activist
Member # 107882

Icon 5 posted      Profile for Kathryn2425     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Hi! The other day I went to the bathroom and when I wiped there was just a spot of brown on the toilet paper in which I have never ever had happen before. My period is due in about 5 days so what's going on?
Posts: 118 | Registered: Jul 2013  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
copper86
Peer Ambassador
Member # 95710

Icon 1 posted      Profile for copper86     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Hello!

I'm no expert here, but I may be able to offer some help. Some brown spotting before your period starts is normal. I sometimes get that myself, and actually just had that a few weeks ago. Brown blood is just old blood, whereas bright red blood is fresher.

Are you on any kind of birth control - the pill, patch, etc.? If you are, spotting is a side effect of medications like the pill; especially in the first few months of use, but these side effects can still occur at any time.

Are you under any stress at the moment - not sleeping well, not eating well, or anything else? Sometimes, that can cause a bit of spotting, too.

--------------------
"I do the best that I can. I'm just what I am." - Rush (Best I Can)

Posts: 692 | From: Canada | Registered: May 2012  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
Molias
Scarleteen Volunteer
Member # 101745

Icon 1 posted      Profile for Molias     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Spotting is something that does happen from time to time; there's no way to know why this might be happening right now, but it's not necessarily a cause for concern on its own.