Donate Now
  New Poll  
my profile | directory login | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Scarleteen Boards: 2000 - 2014 (Archive) » SCARLETEEN CENTRAL » Bodies » Polyamory and guidelines

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Polyamory and guidelines
mypolylife
Neophyte
Member # 107290

Icon 1 posted      Profile for mypolylife         Edit/Delete Post 
Hello, I am new to this sight and a bit old to be on here, (42) but it is the first real Q and A that seems honest and open about poly relationships. I have a question about rules or guidelines to follow in a poly relationship. This is my first experience with this. Actually none of the 4 people involved (husband and wife and husband and wife)all straight had done anything like this before. My wife and I have been together for 20 years and they have been together for 30. I am only the second man my girlfiend has been with. To get to my question, I have tried not to set any boundries up regarding public displays of affection. However I get very uncomfortable when I see my wife and her boyfriend being "lovey dovey". Nothing overtly sexual but really connected. Making out has probably been the worst thing I've actually seen. I have read that rules put in place to prevent triggers of fear or uncomfortable feelings are not good for the relationship, however, aren't decisions like not reading each others e-mails or not watching each other have sex with the other partner just decisions to avoid feeling uncomfortable as well? All 3 of the others absolutely agree that none would like to see any sex happening as well as not wanting to read love notes sent back and forth between partners for fear of feeling uncomfortable. How is not wanting to see PDA's (in front of me)any different?
Posts: 5 | Registered: Apr 2013  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
Heather
Executive Director & Founder
Member # 3