Donate Now
We've Moved! Check out our new boards.
  New Poll  
my profile | directory login | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Scarleteen Boards: 2000 - 2014 (Archive) » SCARLETEEN CENTRAL » Bodies » Does this sound like depression/anxiety?

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Does this sound like depression/anxiety?
Kotori
Activist
Member # 17839

Icon 5 posted      Profile for Kotori     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
I have been living in the US since last sept: I moved here to start my phd after I finished my masters in the UK. A few months before leaving the UK I met my current boyfriend, and we only had those few months to be together before I left. Coming here has been extremely tough for me not only because I had to leave my new and shiny and fulfilling relationship behind, as well as all my family and friends (and had to do so in little over a week after I finished my coursework before I moved here and started my new coursework, so there was no transitioning time), but also because I had an aversion to both starting a phd and to coming to the US. It seemed like my only choice because I had got a scholarship and had to stop depending on my father's money somehow, so this was the sure way - trying to apply for jobs in Europe would have meant giving up on this cause I didn't have time to decide - and that's why I came, but it felt like a failure that I had to end up doing what I had vowed to myself I wouldn't.