Donate Now
We've Moved! Check out our new boards.
  New Poll  
my profile | directory login | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Scarleteen Boards: 2000 - 2014 (Archive) » SCARLETEEN CENTRAL » Bodies » most random situation...ever

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: most random situation...ever
eileenmarie
Neophyte
Member # 49425

Icon 11 posted      Profile for eileenmarie     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
This is going to sound pretty strange...

But okay, so I'm in my first year of a medical course and we are studying bacteriology currently. Today, in practical, we had to look at our own mouth plaque under a microscope (too much fun).

Now I know this is not diagnostic in any official way, but my plaque slide showed fungus (possibly candida) along with loads of white blood cells. The bacteriologist lecturer kindly pointed these findings out to me.

I have no symptoms at all of any sort of oral fungal infection (normal tongue, no lesions as far as my untrained eye can see) and therefore don't see how any doctor would diagnose or treat me for an infection. However, upon doing further online research (always a mistake) I learned that oral candida generally only happens with those immunocompromised (HIV, cancer treatment patients) or those with uncontrolled diabetes. I feel pretty certain that these options are not possibilities, though I'm reconsidering the amount of sugars I take in daily upon learning about the diabetes thing.

Is this something I should pursue with a doctor even though I have no symptoms or should I just wait and see and hope it's something transient that my immune system will deal with.