Donate Now
  New Poll  
my profile | directory login | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Scarleteen Boards: 2000 - 2014 (Archive) » SCARLETEEN CENTRAL » Bodies » Becoming stupid?

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Becoming stupid?
smm
Neophyte
Member # 10592

Icon 1 posted      Profile for smm     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Has anyone read the book flowers for algernon? You know how Charlie feels after his smartness goes away.. he feels like his mind is deteriorating..

That's how i feel. only.. It's real.

It started out in 11th grade.. (im in 1st year of college right now)
as little things.. like.. occasionally forgetting how to spell a simple word. (Like 'where') I'd think and think and i'm like.. "Were? no... Wear? no.. ware?? noo.." but then eventually figure it out. Nothing to worry about.. not yet anyway. Everyone has "brain farts"

But it got worse.. and now it's bad. And I'm afraid it's going to get even worse.. and I dont want to be stupid.

I'm an extremely intelligent person.. er.. at least.. i /WAS/ and I feel like im getting stupider every day. A lot of times now I'll forget what I'm doing.. In the middle of it. I'll be in math class and Class ends and im like "what did we do this entire time??" and When i take showers.. and I'll be in there. and think.. "did i shampoo my hair yet.. or not?" I COMPLETELY do not remember! So i just do it again.. to be safe.. Greasy hair = not fun.

And when I'm in the kitchen area.. and I'll turn off the light.. then ask who did it.. and my dad and brother tell me.. it was me.. And i dont remember turning it off at all!!!!!! And I know they arent joking.. they wouldnt for something like that.

When my dad used to tell me to do laundry.. id remember it.. Now i'm lucky if i hear it the first time he says it. And he gets mad if i dont do it.. But if i dont remember him saying it in the first place.. then I feel just horrible..