Donate Now
We've Moved! Check out our new boards.
  New Poll  
my profile | directory login | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Scarleteen Boards: 2000 - 2014 (Archive) » SCARLETEEN CENTRAL » Bodies » How long will a period last?

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: How long will a period last?
Lil_Azn_Hunny
Neophyte
Member # 2357

Icon 1 posted      Profile for Lil_Azn_Hunny     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Hi.
I am new to my period, I just got it yesterday.
I just need to know, how long will it last for? Then when it stops, how long will it stop for?

------------------
Lots of Love,
-LiLy xoxo

Posts: 2 | From: Canada | Registered: Jan 2001  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
KittenGoddess
Scarleteen Volunteer
Member # 1679

Icon 1 posted      Profile for KittenGoddess     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Well welcome to the boards hunny! We're always glad to have new posters!

Check out this article about periods! That should answer most of your questions.

But to give you a basic answer (not that this means you shouldn't read the article!), periods generally last somewhere around 5 days, and there can be anywhere between 23 to 35 days between periods, although it averages out at about 28 days generally. BUT it is important to note two things here. First, cycles are different for every woman, so yours may be longer or shorter depending. And second, it can take 5 years (more or less depending on your body) for your period to regulate. So don't get freaked out if you don't have one in exactly 28 days!

Hope that answered your question. Go read that article! And if you have any more questions, feel free to post em' up! Oh, and you might aquaint yourself with the Search function for Pink Slip and the Search function for the boards, they can be of much help in times of trouble ! Anyway, once again, welcome to the boards!

~KittenGoddess

------------------