Donate Now

my profile | directory login | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Scarleteen Boards: 2000 - 2014 (Archive) » SCARLETEEN CENTRAL » Sexual Identity » (semi)straight

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: (semi)straight
Ohana626
Activist
Member # 56775

Icon 1 posted      Profile for Ohana626     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
So I was writing something a minute ago and this phrase came into my head: (semi)straight. And it suddenly felt very applicable to me, more so than bisexual.

Because here's the thing: I have considered myself straight for 17 years, and that's not something that just goes away, that mindset. I'm a supporter of LGBT rights, but still, I have been straight for like I said, 17 years. (I'm 18 now.)

But that changed when I fell head over heels for a girl my senior year of high school (I'm a freshman in college now). And during that time I exclusively liked girls. I mean, I still found guys attractive from time to time, but the only people that I "liked" during the past year have been girls, three to be exact, and one that I'm pretty sure I would have fallen completely in love with if she had been interest in me as well.

Now thinking about it, there could be psychological reasons for this (the guy I liked before the girls was gay, and seriously I had never liked anyone as much as I liked him), I wasn't really into guys as friends and felt emotionally closer to girls and then started confusing the emotional closeness and turning it into sexual attraction, etc...I don't know. All I know is that I liked this one girl a hell of a lot, and I still find myself missing her from time to time.