Donate Now
my profile | directory login | register | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Got Questions? Get Answers. » SCARLETEEN CENTRAL » LGBTQA Relationships » Starting to date?

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Starting to date?
lambert
Neophyte
Member # 89916

Icon 1 posted      Profile for lambert     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
At the moment I am a freshman in University. My sexuality and gender is something I've struggled with for years and only recently have I semi-openly stating that I identify as gender queer and would like to date female identified humans or other gender queers.

However I have no idea how to start dating. I have a great support system of close friends who also identify as queer but I'm honestly lost on how to meet/approach/date people. I've never even been kissed (something that makes me extremely embarrassed) or dated "the opposite sex" when I still identified as female. In general I'm just feeling really lost and ashamed of my lack of experience. Also in general I am very shy and have a hard time socializing.

Help? On dating and how to deal with my insecurities?

Posts: 2 | From: Seattle, WA | Registered: Nov 2011  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
Heather
Executive Director & Founder
Member # 3

Icon 1 posted      Profile for Heather     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
Well, the first thing I'd suggest doing is letting those awesome friends know you're interested in dating. Often, dating in queer circles -- mostly because our dating pool can be so much smaller than the pool is for hetero and/or cis folks -- involves a lot of mingling amongst friends and dating within or just around the edges of our existing community.

How do you feel about starting there?