Donate Now

my profile | directory login | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Scarleteen Boards: 2000 - 2014 (Archive) » SCARLETEEN CENTRAL » LGBTQA Relationships » Dating

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Dating
wordnerd25
Neophyte
Member # 58644

Icon 1 posted      Profile for wordnerd25     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Hi. I'm a college student, a cisgendered woman, and I guess I'm sort of bicurious? I'm mostly attracted to men, but I do have some interest in women, too. At some point, I am interested in possibly dating/having sex with a woman to see if it's something I'd want to do...but I really don't want to make anyone a victim of my experimentation. How do you explore your sexuality without hurting another person?
Posts: 29 | From: USA | Registered: Mar 2011  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
Heather
Executive Director & Founder
Member # 3

Icon 1 posted      Profile for Heather     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
I think it can help to remember that when someone is new to being sexual with someone else, they're exploring their sexuality no matter what their orientation is. In fact, we're really kind of doing it our whole lives, because it's not like it's something that ever stops growing and changing, or where we suddenly know all there is to know about it. You know?

Mind, just like I'd hope you'd realize that a relationship or sex with one man couldn't tell you how you feel about all men, the same is true with women. If you do sate/get sexual with one woman, all that's likely going to tell you is how you feel about your own self and sexuality at the time, and how you feel about that one woman, not all women. One relationship can't tell us if we will or will not want another with other people, ultimately.