Donate Now
my profile | directory login | register | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Got Questions? Get Answers. » SCARLETEEN CENTRAL » Pregnancy and Parenting » i'm pregnant.

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: i'm pregnant.
lostcat
Activist
Member # 3295

Icon 1 posted      Profile for lostcat     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
i got it confirmed this week, that i'm pregnant.

i'm 19, i'm a college freshman, and not my boyfriend nor i ever expected this to happen. i've been living with him for a while now, so we do have sex a lot, but i've been on the pill and i took it all the time. i still don't really understand how this happens.. i feel like we've been so careful, and i just don't deserve this.

obviously my boyfriend and i have talked a lot about this, and we've came to the conclusion that we're going to keep the baby. i've always been extremely pro-choice, and so has he, but it's so different when you're in the situation. i wouldn't be able to do an adoption, because i know i wouldn't be able to carry a child for 9 months and turn around and give it to someone else. i had a hard enough time giving away my cat's kittens last year, let alone my own child.

but truly, i'm really really scared. my boyfriend and i are very committed, so that part is okay, but i'm only 19 and i have so many plans for my life and now i feel like they've all been crushed because of this. i've always been a "good kid". i lost my virginity only a few months ago, to my boyfriend. my parents live in singapore, and are both incredibly conservative, and are going to a) never speak to me again, and b) have heart attacks when i tell them about this.

i'm so afraid. i can't imagine myself as a mother. at least not a traditional one. i'm afraid that people are going to expect me to morph into some domestic goddess now that i'm a mother.