Donate Now
We've Moved! Check out our new boards.

my profile | directory login | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Scarleteen Boards: 2000 - 2014 (Archive) » SCARLETEEN CENTRAL » The Randoms » Playlist

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Playlist
Heather
Executive Director & Founder
Member # 3

Icon 1 posted      Profile for Heather     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
In light of a few other threads, I thought it might be nice to have one reccomending some really excellent music or musicians people like. Given the way record labels and mainstream radio works, the truth (sadly) of the matter is that really good musicians rarely get heard because it's harder to market an excellent musician than a more pliable, marketable one. As a trained musician, I always feel it's really important for people to hear a wide range of music, and to be exposed to very skilled and original musicians.

So, here are a few things that have been in my CD drive lately I thought some of you might enjoy.

Shakira, Donde esta los ladrones?
Shakira is basically Cuba's answer to incredible feamle pop music. If you mixed up Ani DiFranco and Alanis Morisette, turned down the angst and put it in Spanish, you might wind up with Shakira.

Jeff Buckey, Grace
Sadly, Jeff Buckley died a year and some ago in an accident, but he made incredible music and had one of the widest male vocal ranges I have ever heard in popular music.

Ani DiFranco
Anything by Ani is worth hearing. I've been following her music since the early nineties, and while I prefer some of her earlier albums best, I do like them all. She's an incredibly skilled musician with a great attitude.

Fatboy Slim, Better Living Thorugh Chemistry or You've Come a Long Way, Baby
Fatboy Slim does techno/eclectica fabulously, and it is GREAT dance music, or just something to rev you up when your mood is dragging.

Fiona Apple[ -- either of her two albums