Donate Now
my profile | directory login | register | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Got Questions? Get Answers. » SCARLETEEN CENTRAL » Abuse & Assault » Where is that fine line?

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Where is that fine line?
luanne
Activist
Member # 48638

Icon 1 posted      Profile for luanne     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
Here's my story:

I took my road test about a month ago. I felt pretty confident going in because I was a good driver- hey, I could even parallel park!- and my reckless brother who forgets to shift and brake had passed no problem.

So the tester climbed in the passenger's seat. I said hi, he said, "Where's your certificate and permit?" But he said it in a way that made me feel like I was deliberately wasting his time, like a teacher's tone when a kid won't settle down and behave. I had done nothing, but felt a little guilty, and a little embarrassed.

And then I pulled away from the curb, and at the very first stop sign, after I had stopped and was inching ahead to see past a tree obstructing my view of the intersection, he asked me what the heck I was doing and told me I was wasting his time.

For the rest of the ride, everything I did had some sort of flaw that he pointed out. At the first turn, I had gone too wide; at the second, I cut it too close, and so on. My limbs were like jelly, and soon I really did begin to drive poorly because I couldn't really control my movements. Before I had even gotten a chance to parallel park, he said, "Alright. I've seen enough. Go back." But in the "how could you be so STUPID?" tone that really made me feel like I was doing something terrible on purpose.