Donate Now
my profile | directory login | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Got Questions? Get Answers. » SCARLETEEN CENTRAL » Relationships » Injustified guilt?

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Injustified guilt?
dissonancechords
Neophyte
Member # 23393

Icon 1 posted      Profile for dissonancechords     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
First of all, let me begin by complimenting the Moderators of this forum and the information they provide.

My story is a reasonably long one, but I will try to condense it as much as possible.

To begin with, I met a lady back in fall of 02 somewhat through my work. I am a first year resident physician now, age 25, she being a first year surgical tech student, age 21. Me met during the better half of my second year of school, and Our relationship progressed. The first six months were exceptional, with her being non-clingy, accepting of my long hours, and her ability to have time on her own and mutual respect for one another, (or so it seemed).

A bit of background on her: she comes from a single parent family, namely her mother the guardian, and her mother has been married and divorced an additional 3 times since the split from my girlfriend's biological father.

Our problems began when I discovered she had a drinking problem. Not in your traditional sense of an everyday craving, but when she started, she couldn't stop. These episodes ended with violent actions and verbal abuse.
I decided that instead of abandoning the situation, I would stick by her, and indeed she quit, and to my knowledge has no had a drink since.