Donate Now
We've Moved! Check out our new boards.
  New Poll  
my profile | directory login | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Scarleteen Boards: 2000 - 2014 (Archive) » SCARLETEEN CENTRAL » Relationships » Is being selfish so wrong?

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Is being selfish so wrong?
Lin
Activist
Member # 2050

Icon 1 posted      Profile for Lin     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Hi. This is my first time on the board. I have been reading the messages for some time and I am really impressed by the advice being given out so I thought somewhere someone might be able to help me.

I'm 18 and have been with my boyfriend for coming 3 years next Feb. recently I have been thinking of ending the relationship. actually at this point of time we are in break up mode. Nothing has been said but we dun act like a couple anymore.

My problem, if you can call it that, is that I expect alot from this relationship. I am pathetically romantic at heart. The kind who wants surprise gifts from her boyfriend, flowers for nothing. U get the point.

He honestly tries but sometimes he gets sick of trying and blows up at me. Telling me to go look for another guy which upsets me coz I feel that if he really loves me shouldnt he try to make a go of things?

Looking at what I have written I see how selfish I might come across but is that wrong? To give up my relationship to seek for something I really want? I honestly cannot tell if I love him anymore. I care about him but I really dunno if the love still exists.

We are very different people. too different in fact. BTW, he is my first boyfriend

Also, our relationship tires me out. Too many quarrells. I feel that I care too much about the problems in the relationship and he doesn't give a damn. I end up putting so much in and getting nothing out of it.