Donate Now
my profile | directory login | register | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Got Questions? Get Answers. » EXPERT ADVICE » Emergencies and Crises » am i at pregnancy risk?

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: am i at pregnancy risk?
flou
Neophyte
Member # 35097

Icon 1 posted      Profile for flou     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
hi okay so this is my first time here. I just finished my periods on firday and had some drops left on saturday, i had sex with my boyfriend today without protection, and he ejaculated in me. I was wondering if i had a risk of getting pregnant, i heard that right when you finish your periods we dont have eggs,,is that true? enlighten me!
Posts: 19 | From: far | Registered: Aug 2007  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
-Lauren-
Activist
Member # 25983

Icon 1 posted      Profile for -Lauren-     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
You are at risk of pregnancy anytime you have unprotected sex. The assumption that pregnancy is not possible during a menstrual period is based off the 28-day menstrual cycle, which all women don't have.

This goes by the assumption that women ovulate on day 14. Let's say your period lasts for 5 days, and you have intercourse on the last day or the day after it ends. Sperm can survive for up to 5-7 days in the reproductive tract, making it possible for them to join the ovum at ovulation. Some women ovulate earlier than Day 14, making it more probable.

There's simply no way to know when YOU ovulate unless you're keeping track of your fertility signs. This is why, in this instance, you'd be advised to get emergency contraception.

Posts: 4636 | From: USA/Northern Europe | Registered: Oct 2005  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
flou
Neophyte
Member # 35097